Home > Uncategorized > Personal cheerleader

Personal cheerleader

Today’s run didn’t disappoint in terms of challenging course, tough winds, and extra excitement just past the half way mark.

We ran “Josh’s Eastside Loop” this morning. I hope I never meet “Josh” because I might have to kick him.  The first half of this course consists of hill, turn, steady incline, turn, more steady incline, turn, hill, turn, graveyard, turn, steady incline, turn…(I think you get the point.)  Normally this would be a tough course but today we added a brisk 10-20 mph wind from the north with higher gusts blowing in our faces for the first half and it was really hard at times.  Running against the wind messes with your head after awhile so you have to pay attention to your mental game. At some point, I couldn’t figure out how I could have the wind blowing against me, turn, and still have the wind blowing against me!  I conjured the Austin half in my head and reminded myself I’m mentally strong and I would get through it.

I ran by myself today, which was all my fault. I was running late (hit that snooze once, something I don’t normally do on Saturdays) so I made it to Rogue a few minutes late. By the time I dropped my bag, got my iPod and Garmin on, grabbed a map, and went outside, everyone had gone.  I hadn’t run this distance (7 miles) by myself in awhile but I used to ONLY run by myself so I knew I’d be okay.   At least I got to see a handful of my lovely Rogue ladies on my way into the building =)

This is the route we always get lost on.  I don’t think I’ve ever made the right choice at 11th St and Navasota. Today was just like any other day so I spent some time headed west on 11th when I should’ve been heading north on Navasota. I walked around some, trying to figure it out, so my 1st mile was an upper 12.  I was a little nervous running on some of the streets by myself on the east side of Austin, but the area is really changing and I love seeing the history of the area and there would be one or two people I’d cross paths with from time to time so it was fine.

I had a healthy wedgie so I decided to get it out since I hadn’t seen any runners around me for awhile.  Of course, about 20 seconds later, a couple ran up behind me and past me.  I bet I blushed.  It was really funny =)

The first water stop wasn’t until @ mile 3 and the next one was just before mile 4. I was stopped at a light when I heard someone yell out the window “good job, girl” so I turned and there was a man in a small gray car smiling at me.  I’m always friendly to people when I run, especially Saturday mornings.  I like to say “good morning” and smile and be cheerful.  So I smiled at the guy at the light and turned back around.  Okay, let me qualify that last statement. I’m usually friendly when I run. When cars are inconsiderate and come close to hitting me or my friends, I’ve been known to get a little mama-bear-with-rabies.  Not gonna lie.

I proceed to head south, wind at my back (woo hoo!) and was approaching Pleasant Valley which is a nice flat road back to Rogue.  I see my “friend” from the car at the light take a right, make a u-turn, and sit at the next intersection. Didn’t realize he was waiting for me until he turned right as I  passed the intersection and gave me a “looking good!” out the window.  At this point, I’m not completely freaking out.  There are 1-2 people ahead of me and I passed someone a block or two back so I’m not completely by myself.  Plus, he wasn’t being derogatory or aggressive, just a little creep-o.  Over the next two miles, he would appear in various places, yelling out to me his “words of encouragement” and this just made me run a little faster so I could try and keep up with the people way in front of me.  Right after I took a right on 5th St from Pleasant Valley, I heard a car slowly approaching me on my right.  It was him.  I had my iPod on, which I kept on, but he proceeded to give me some compliments (we’ll just say that, um, he seemed to be appreciative of my, um, womanly curves. Yes. I think that sums it up.)  He also proceeded to ASK ME FOR MY PHONE NUMBER.  Um, yeah, no.  So I kept my smile on my face and said “sorry, I have a boyfriend” because what the hell am I supposed to say?  Seriously?  I didn’t want to be a bitch but I didn’t want to encourage him at all.  He rode alongside me for a minute longer, stating he had to give it a shot because he’d probably never see me again, and he left.  I kept thinking he’d show back up at some point but he didn’t.  I was relieved.  Although the whole situation was weird and creepy, I never felt threatened, just a little stalked.  I ran a lot faster those last 3 miles though!  Check out my splits!

12:39, 11:46, 11:59, 11:56, 11:18, 11:01, 11:14, 10:49 (last 2/10 of a mile)

You can tell when my Gu kicked in, when the course got easier, and when my stalker started following me just after mile 4.  I kicked it into gear!  My running friend, Saira, told me she’s praying for me that I meet someone special.  I think she needs to pray just a little bit harder =)

Some of our Northside Runaways were going to eat breakfast with our coach after the run but Kate had a soccer game at 9:30am so soccer mama duties trumped breakfast with friends.  Kate played a great game.

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

  1. March 3, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    OMG Shelley. I would have been scared, but it sounds like you handled it well. You make me laugh….he liked my um womanly curves, and you comment about Saira needing to pray a little harder! Great post. I was struggling today as well. I don’t like being so out of breath at the beginning of a run damn it! I hope that you can join us for breakfast some time. I am planning an alternate route for next weekend if Rogue does not offer one because I am not putting myself through the torture of the Run From Hell. Feel free to join us. I would like to do breakfast next weekend as well. See you soon. Have a great weekend. 🙂
    Kristine

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

