Home > Uncategorized > Roguette with the ladies

Roguette with the ladies

The last 12 hours of my life have been a little silly.  You know when one thing after another keeps popping up, throwing you of course, and you get to where it actually turns funny at some point because it just won’t stop?  That was me this past 12 hrs of my life.

The night before my long runs, I always try to get everything ready to go so I’m on auto-pilot in the morning.  Waking up at 4:45am is tough and I don’t want to rely on me remembering those last minute items so I really try to be prepared.  I try to be home by 8pm so I can start down the inventory in my head to get ready.  I was ready to get in bed around 10pm which is great for me, but then my toe grazed my sheet underneath the covers and I remembered that I had to do something about the blister that had formed.  Damn.  I’m not the bravest person when it comes to needles, bleeding, draining things, or whatever so I knew this was gonna suck.  Thankfully, a friend of mine walked me through the process.  I ended up going to sleep @ 11:15pm.  Around 4:15am, I woke up to find my dog sitting on my chest.  This is not normal. I realize I never took her out one last time so she probably has to go to the bathroom.  Damn. I took her outside and she went immediately.  We came back in, I got in bed, and then she stood next to the side of my bed whining at me. Damn. I got back out of bed, let her outside again so she could do her other business, and then we went back to sleep.  About 15 minutes later, my alarm went off. Ugh.  This will be a fun day, I can already tell.

First things first – I have to bandage my toe.  I was supposed to get a non-stick pad snuggly against the blister to prevent it from rubbing during my run.  I think I was sweating by the end of it all because I was so nervous about whether I did it right.  Now post run, I can say that I think I did.  Haven’t taken the bandage and tape off yet though so I reserve the right to change my mind.

Our route today took us over to Congress Ave, through the Capitol grounds, and up through UT.  One of our water stops was in Jester Hall.  We kept ascending up into North Central Austin and then finally turned back to the right and started our way back down.  The first 5 miles were sooo hard for me. I didn’t use a Gu before the run and I could tell the difference.  I’ve been so sleep deprived this week and I had nothing left in the tank to help me push through.  Once I took the Gu @ the half-way point and drank some more water, I felt so much better and was able to push it pretty hard those last 3 miles.  I ended up with 9.75 miles in 1:55:07 for an 11:48 pace. Very happy with this time!  Here were my splits:

12:32, 11:50, 11:53, 11:55, 12:26, 12:02, 11:47, 11:23, 11:02, 10:56

I love, love, love coming back down Congress and then heading east on 4th St back to Rogue.  I can always pick up the pace over that last mile.

Had a great talk today with one of my Rogue teammates who is also a single mom.  I just found this out!  I’ve thought she was married for a year now.  Too funny!  It felt good to talk about the pressures we feel, trying to be all things to our kids, and trying to balance running with everything else we have to do.  So enjoyed our talk!

August will go down as my highest mileage month to-date and September, October, and Novemeber will just see more increases.  I’m very proud of where I am right now in my training.  I just can’t get hurt and need to really get myself into bed earlier each night so I have more to give during my runs.  Hope everyone has a fantastic weekend =)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

