Home > Uncategorized > “Not So Hellish” run

“Not So Hellish” run

This was supposed to be on the Run From Hell course but since we ran under 12, it was only the “Not So Hellish” course.  I might have to argue that point a little since from Shoal Creek/Far West/Knollwood/Mesa was basically one big gradual incline for several miles, but I know what other hills Northwest Austin has to offer that we didn’t see this morning so I will be grateful. We covered 9.18 miles at a 12:17 pace and I’m happy with our performance. Here were our splits:

11:49, 12:43, 12:37, 12:25, 12:32, 12:32, 12:45, 11:26, 11:49, 11:26 (.18 mile)

My running buddy Denise was back in town and it was sooo good to have her back!  We took it a little slower than usual since she was on vacation and I’ve been off on my training, too.  I finally had the right shoes with the right inserts so my feet weren’t an issue at all.  Now I just have to let my toes heal from the blisters and watch a toenail fall off.  My Brooks Glycerine will be promptly returned because I just can’t take the pain!  If I have to endure the pain of blisters, burning in my toes, and heavy feet, it’s just not worth it to keep trying to see if I adjust to new shoes.  I’d rather wear my Gel Asics Nimbus 12.  Think I’ll stock up on a few extra pairs in case they stop making them.  That would be bad so I just won’t think about it!

Around mile 6, we considered how we are still in the base phase of our training. In only 8 weeks, we’ll double the distance we ran today.  Wow.  By the grace of all that is holy, it’ll be 10 degrees cooler at that point, right?  Cooler temps will definitely help.

Have a great weekend!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

