Home > Uncategorized > 1st day of marathon training – White Rock or BUST!

1st day of marathon training – White Rock or BUST!

I’m firing up the ol’ blog again because today is the official first day of my marathon training.  I am stoked, to say the least!  I’m looking forward to getting back into my routines and training with my Rogue friends.  It’s only been two weeks but I feel like I haven’t seen them in months!

Last year at this time, I was just about to sign up with Rogue for training for my first half-marathon.  I knew I’d finish, but I also knew I’d walk at least some of it.  There was no way I’d be running 13.1 miles without stopping!  Are you kidding?  I was supposed to be able to run 3-5 miles without stopping to be able to do the half-marathon training program I chose and I had run 4 without stopping in May, but didn’t run 5 w/out stopping until the day before my 1st day with Rogue =)  I remember the course I ran, around my neighborhood. I thought my back was going to snap in two.  It was hard, but I did it and besides my lower back, I felt pretty good.

In October, I started thinking “I wonder if I could run a marathon?” after seeing all that I was able to accomplish with Rogue.  Then I ran the San Antonio half (didn’t enjoy the course at all, but ran the whole thing) and I remember when we passed the split where the marathoners peeled off and went right, half-marathoners went left, I knew there was no way I could ever run a marathon!  No. Way.

Fast forward one year and I’m embarking on a dream. Hard to believe I’m running a marathon. Wow. This from the girl who would rather fight w/ her high school coach and go see the principal instead of run two miles without stopping.  I just had no confidence I could do it. And it made me mad that I was being told I HAD to do it. I’ll give myself a small reprieve to say I had exercise-induced asthma at the time and they didn’t make rescue inhalers then so I remember wheezing and coughing and having a terrible time of it.  That was some scary stuff.  So it wasn’t all because of a bad attitude and lack of confidence.  I use my rescue inhaler before most of my training runs now, if I have any suspicion that I might have trouble.  Makes a lot of difference!

So here we go!  One day down, and about 4.5 months to go.  I’ll try to document as much as I can because I want to record my progress and memories.  This might be a once-in-a-lifetime experience and I don’t want to miss a thing =)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

