Home > Uncategorized > 10K PR! Yippee!!!

10K PR! Yippee!!!

For those of you who are friends with me on dailymile and from Rogue, you know I wasn’t sure what the Cap10K would hold for me today.  I’d been battling killer allergies that left me sicker than I’d been since last summer.  I just didn’t know what to expect.  I hadn’t run since Wednesday’s quality run, so I didn’t know how my lungs would hold up.  I felt a lot better later in the day yesterday and felt really good this morning, so I was hopeful, but still unsure.  I knew the first 1/2-1 mile would be telling. If I could feel the burn in my lungs, I’d hold back and play it conservatively.  If not, I was going for a PR.  No doubt.  I hadn’t worked this hard over the last 6 weeks to do anything else.

I parked in a great, free spot @ Chuy’s on Barton Springs (thanks, Jim!) and started my walk.  Along the way, I met a lady named Shelley who is a cancer survivor (1 yr out from treatment) and we got along so good.  We stood in line for the port-o-potties and then we lost each other, but she was yet another example as to why it pays to be friendly.  I love meeting new people.  Talking to her on the way to the start line was just what I needed!

I joined the other red bibs @ 8:30am and did some stretching and focused on my mental game.  My Rogue coach said I should try to pace @ 11:13 min/mile over those first 3 miles and then pick it up at the end if I wanted to PR.  I knew mentally I was ready.  Was I physically though? I kept looking around to see if I could spot my Rogue friends, knowing it was almost like looking for a needle in haystack, but I finally found a handful of them!  Woo-hoo!  Again, just what I needed as we neared race time.

Once I crossed the start line, I felt ready.  Strong.  I remembered how I felt last year running up Congress.  It was hard for me then but it was nothing to me now.  Of course, I started out a little too fast but I was feeling great and knew I’d need to speed it up from 1-2 and 4-6.2 if I was going to PR it.  I kept waiting for that burning feeling to start in my lungs, but it never did.  Once I passed the 1/2 mile mark w/ no lung problems whatsoever, the game was ON!

I was looking at my Garmin in between songs between miles 2-4 and saw that I was pacing great, even better than I’d hoped for, and I was cautiously optimistic about my chances.  I knew once I crossed under MoPac at Enfield, I’d have a pretty good idea if a PR was in the cards for me.  I was happy to be running west on Enfield because running east during the Austin Half just about killed me.  I decided to take out my Austin half frustrations on that hill, refusing to let up too much, paying attention to my form, and keeping long strides (thanks again, Joe and Tom!)  When I saw my mile 3 pace was an 11:30, I was over the moon!  I knew I could do it!

When I crossed under MoPac, I knew some of my family might be there to cheer me on.  I looked around on both sides, but didn’t see anyone.  I knew there was a chance they might not make it, but I was really hoping they would.  Instead of letting it get me down, I started thinking about my dailymile and Rogue friends and how proud I’d feel to post my efforts for this race.  Just thinking about you guys kept that spring in my step and my mental game sharp.  I know how much I count on my social community so I kind of imagined you out there on the course, cheering me on.  Sounds doofy, but I really mean it.  And it really helped!  Turns out my dad did try to see me, but I think he just missed me.  I was just too speedy today!  I wish I would’ve seen him, but knowing he tried means a lot.

I did some mental math at Winsted/Lake Austin Blvd and thought if I ran @ 12 min/mile pace the rest of the way, I’d be over my standing PR (1:10), but under my 2nd goal for this race (1:13).  But then I thought “if you can run an 11:30 for mile 3, you can run under that the rest of the way in, easily.”  I wondered if I pushed it too hard at the beginning and if I’d have enough in me to finish really strong, and my mind and body was saying “YES YOU DO!” so I listened and kept it up.

From miles 4 and 5, I just ran steady.  I wanted to pick it up a few times, but I knew that I needed to be careful or I wouldn’t finish as strong as I hoped.  My PR was in clear sights at this point and I knew if I could keep my current pace plus a burst of speed at the end, I’d make it.  I picked it up a little more for mile 6 and then gave it my all the last .2 miles.  I ended up with a 1:09:24 (official race results say 1:09:25) and my avg pace was 11:04!  My Garmin said the course was actually 6.27 and I’m going by my Garmin.  I use it for all of my other training and races so I’m using it here, too.  Here were my laps (mile times):

10:54, 11:15, 11:30, 11:11, 11:11, 10:57, 8:54 (last .27 miles)

I am OVER THE MOON HAPPY with my time!  I bolded the two miles with the toughest hills.  Boo-ya!  I was cranking it up those hills!  I ran a 1:22:54 at last year’s Cap10K and a 1:10:10 at the IBM 10K in October.  And for this year’s Cap10K, I ran 45 seconds on a harder course and by myself.  My friend Stef ran the IBM 10K with me and she helped me keep my pace up.  For this race, I did it all on my own.

This race confirmed to me that cross-training is good, stepping up my # of runs each week is good, losing weight is good (I’ve lost about 8-9 lbs in the past 3 weeks) and your mental game can make or break you.  I thought about trying to play it safe, knowing how horrible I’ve been feeling, not wanting to push my asthma, but that was in the past.  Maybe it was the very recent past, but it was in the past.  Why would I settle for less from myself today because of how I was feeling on Thursday and Friday?  It was Sunday at 9:05am and once I knew my lungs were okay, that was all I needed to know.  I feel like I stepped up a notch today in my running.  I truly feel fantastic!  And I’m READY to train for White Rock Marathon in Dallas this December.  Bring it on!

After I crossed the finish line, I started walking along the course, trying to find my friends who were still on the course.  Once I saw Leslie, I hopped over the railing and ran with her to the end.  I was so proud of her!  She was giving it her everything and this was her first 10K.  And she ran the whole thing, something I was not able to accomplish for my first 10K. She did AWESOME!

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 27, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    Shelley, I’m so thrilled for your PR!! And I cannot TELL you what it meant to me to have you there with me at the end… I really did go too fast after mile 5 to sustain me until the end, but I couldn’t settle down. Seeing you, all my emotions just bubbled up. Bursting into tears at that point must have been all I could do if I was gonna stick with it and NOT WALK. 🙂 And I did it!! Thank you so much for all your encouraging words, and your encouraging actions of running with me that last mile or so.. I’m amazed at your times (both today and your first 10k), and look forward to doing White Rock with you. Hoooray for running and the strength and social connections that come with it!!! Oh, and great job on the weight loss! I can’t believe you’ve lost so much already. Keep it up, girl.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

