Home > Uncategorized > Just a great run!

Just a great run!

Today’s run was excellent!  I wasn’t sure how I’d feel considering I hadn’t run more than 5 miles (and that was once) since Austin, but I felt really good.  I’ve been exercising more (4-5 days/week instead of 2-3 days), but have added cross-training which apparently is working!  I felt very strong 75% of the time. I should’ve brought one more Gu with me so I could’ve had 2 total, but that’s okay.

I ran the south side of the Lady Bird Lake trail this morning with my fabulous Rogue ladies.  We were on the schedule for 8-10 so I stuck with 8, considering my mileage over the past few weeks.  I got stuck behind 2 stop lights, had to stop to fill up my water once, and a big, unleashed dog on the trail, running the opposite direction of me, almost plowed right into me so I had to stop abruptly to avoid a collision. That kind of pissed me off.  Not the dog’s fault thought. The owner was a runner, too!  Ugh.  Here were my avg paces with a total time of 1:35:42 (12:09 overall average pace):

11:34, 11:53, 12:04, 12:25, 13:00, 12:29, 12:14, and 11:31

I didn’t turn my Garmin on right when started – again – duh.  My short-term goal is to run these longer distances under a 12 min avg pace per mile.  I know I can do it.  Just losing the weight I want to lose might help me improve my time by 1 min per mile!  That would be awesome!

Today I mostly thought about my overall training and running goals over the next year.  I still have my sights locked on the White Rock Marathon in Dallas on Dec. 4th. I’m training for it, at least.  Hopefully I’ll be in the right condition to run it, but I’m going to try.  Running this summer is going to be tough, now that I know a 40 degree run is a beautiful thing!  I think I’ll be waking up really early and going @ 6am to avoid as much heat as possible.  I’m not sure what else to do.

I started Weight Watchers last Monday and I’ve dropped 3 pounds so far.  Only 27 more to go =) But if I keep cross-training, running 3-4 times a week, and keep track of my food through WW’s online tools, 27 pounds shouldn’t be too hard to lose.  It’s exciting and scary at the same time.  I’ve been the only thing getting in my way in terms of being at a weight that’s healthiest for me.  But this is the most physically active I’ve been since high school and even then, I don’t think I worked as hard as I do now.  I LOVE EXERCISE!  I LOVE RUNNING!  If I can just stick with my plan, use my triggerpoint therapy to avoid injury, slowly drop the weight, stay active DAILY, and beat the heat this summer, that marathon is looking sweeter and sweeter.

Have a great weekend!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 12, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    This is so exciting! I am so glad to hear more days of cross training is helping, and ww is too! I’m needing to do both of those things as well, but ww never works for me. I’m thinking of trying biggestloser club online to try to get control of the food issues. I’m also gonna probably buy a bike over spring break so I can do more cross training at home and let Olive run some of her energy out beside me as I do some easy cross training on the bike…

    I know what you mean about the summer being less fun now that you know what a cooler run feels like. I’m having the same issues. I had no idea how nice it would be to run in the cold. The solution you mentioned of going at 6am is exactly what I did all summer, and I can’t think of another solution, really. It’s just too hot between 10 and 6 to do anything out there!

    So excited for White Rock! Are you thinking of doing the San Antonio half again, or are you over the crowds and all that? I’m thinking of trying both if that’s not too weird. I’ve talked to people who say you can do halfs back to back and it’s ok. Either way, I’m glad we’re on track for White Rock!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

