Home > Uncategorized > Post-race thoughts after my first 10K

Post-race thoughts after my first 10K

The final grab from my FB profile, to keep it all together.  These were my thoughts I posted after my first 10K run (Capitol 10K in Austin), back in April 2010.  What an accomplishment! What a day!  Little did I know that I’d be running a 10-mile race and then 2 half marathons later that year =)
 
Wow, I did it. I finished the 10K (6.2 miles) in 1 hr and 22 minutes. It was faster than I thought I’d be able to do, given the hills. The first 2.5 miles were pretty brutal. Those inclines on Congress and Enfield were not easy!! I ran about 13 min, then walked 2, then ran maybe 15, and walked 2.5. After that point though, I ran the rest of the way. I think I was about 2.5 miles into the race, maybe just a little more. But I ran the rest of the way!!! I found a good pace and just never stopped.

I cried about 4 times too. The first time was listening to Dare You to Move by Switchfoot. That song has such huge meaning to me. I used to listen to it when I was going through my brain scare stuff back in 2004 but this time, it just made me happy. Let me tell you…a long time ago in my life, when I wasn’t making the best choices, I could’ve ended up in a very different place. More than once. But I’ve kept trying my best, never giving up on myself. The fact that I’m a 37-yr-old mom who just completed a 10K is just amazing to me. I did it. All of my Weimar friends from my class might recall me not being able to complete 2 miles without stopping in high school. I didn’t believe in myself enough. But that’s all different now.

The second time I cried was around the 2.5 mile point when a lady passed me but turned back around and said “You can do it!” That touched me so much. I said “Thank you. That means so much to me.” and she said “I believe in you.” Waaahhhhhhhh….cried a few tears after that. It might’ve been what propelled me to never stop after that point. She meant it and I knew I believed in myself, too.

For my 3rd brief tearfest, around mile 4, I ran past a lady on the ground who was surrounded by people and she looked unconscious. Her head was immobilized. She was about 5 ft tall and maybe 100 pounds – an obvious runner. When I saw her, I thought about her family that might be waiting for her at the finish line and I cried.

The fourth time I cried was after I finished when I was talking to my friend, Dawn. She was the first person I saw past the finish line that I knew. When I told her I’d just run almost 4 miles without stopping, the tears streamed down again.

What a day! I’m a little sore, my hips especially, and I have a few chaffed areas that I’ll keep to myself, thank you, but all in all, I feel amazing. I did it. I started training in February, I held myself accountable with exercise and healthy eating, and I did it. I did it.

Thanks to all of you who gave me your encouraging words along the way. I really appreciate it. I have a pretty amazing group of family and friends on here and it feels good knowing how many people not just want, but Expect me to succeed. That kind of faith is irreplaceable! My mom and Katie saw me at the end, when I was running as fast as I could after the last turn. My mom said I had a smile on my face. Really? I don’t remember smiling, but I was happy, so maybe I was! =) It was great to have them there to hug me and tell me they were proud of me. My mom had tears in her eyes, too. She knows the significance of me being able to accomplish this transcends the actual 10K itself. My dad was circling in the car to pick us up. Then we came home, I took a shower, and we all had brunch together. Only thing missing was my D Ray, who was with his dad this weekend. I thought about him a lot, though.

So there you have it! My story about my first 10K. I’m not sure what’s on board for me next, but I’ll be perusing the Run Tex website soon to set my eyes on my next adventure.

Have a great day…I know I will =o)

Love,
Shelley

p.s. And to my very dear friend, Heather, who encouraged me to run this in the first place…thank you. Your friendship means more to me than words can ever do justice. We’ve been through so much together and having you in my life is such a blessing. Thanks, girl!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

