Home > Uncategorized > First long run in the cold rain

First long run in the cold rain

Honestly, the weather wasn’t as horrid as I imagined it would be.  It wasn’t easy, but I really thought I would be more miserable.  It was mid-40s with a light rain from 1-3 miles, then it slowly started to pick up until @ mile 6, went back to light rain until mile 8, and then it really picked up and rain was dripping off the brim of my hat the whole time.  I guess it’s good to try and talk yourself out of running because of fear of the elements because when you are that scared, it ends up not being that bad after all! 

I looked down at my garmin shortly into my run and realized I turned it on, but never pressed start!  Great.  So my total mileage is off (should be about 10.3 miles, not 9.7.)  Used google maps to determine I was about 2/3rds of a mile into my run before I turned it on.  Disappointing, but at least I figured it out quickly!  I was frustrated so I started thinking about things to be grateful for when I was out there and my first thought was “at least there’s not a strong wind.”  I kid you not, about 10 seconds after I thought that, there was a gust of wind!  It was pretty funny.  I was about to turn south on Congress and I think it had to do with the buildings because I didn’t feel anything like that for the rest of the run.  A constant wind could’ve made the rain and cold much worse.

I tried hard to be smart with my pace at the beginning.  I haven’t been as good about that over the past few weeks so I was very conscious of my time.  I also had to stop a few times because we were in downtown with traffic lights and I had to get directions twice, so it impacted my time, too.  Here were my splits:

13:17, 13:31, 11:55, 11:35, 11:55, 12:29, 15:20, 12:36, 12:57, 9:12

Yes, that says “9:12” for the last 3/4 of a mile.  I don’t know if it’s accurate, but I do know I picked it up a lot so I wouldn’t be surprised if it were close to that.  I’m still trying to figure out this whole garmin thing!  The 15:20 was around the Exposition/12th Street area and there were some healthy hills!  Tough to handle when you’re in mile 7, but my the graph on my garmin looks wonky so I think all of the buildings  might’ve played a part.  I don’t think I was going that slow, but hey, maybe I was! 

My main goals for this run were to 1) not slip and fall, 2) be careful of my form so I don’t hurt myself, 3) avoid water/mud puddles, 4) enjoy myself.  I completed 3 out of 4, which isn’t bad.  The water and mud puddles were pretty hard to avoid, especially when I was on a part of the Lady Bird Lake trail, the trail by Enfield/MoPac, and the last 2 miles when the rain picked up.  On the trail by Enfield/MoPac (@ mile 5), I ran through this tunnel at one point and right before I entered the tunnel, I stepped in a big ol’ puddle of water that was streaming down the side of a hill.  There was really no way to avoid it, but my feet had been relatively dry until then (thanks to the water repellant I sprayed on my shoes last night!)  My right foot from the ball of my foot to my toes were WET.  Not too long after that, I felt something in my sock and I was 100% sure it was an entire toenail.  I have two black ones on my right foot and it sure felt like a toenail.  I felt it move around in my sock for the rest of my run and it completely grossed me out.  I was a little scared to take off my sock and shoe at the end, but when I did, I still had five toenails on my foot!  I’m not sure what I felt, but I was relieved.  Ugh.

I covered probably 1/3 of my body with Glide before I left and I was happy that I did!  Still have some unfortunately chaffed areas, I will spare you the details, but lets just say “the girls” aren’t very happy right now =)

Can I say again how much I love running with Rogue?  The runners, all performance levels, are so encouraging.  Had several people pass me by and tell me encouraging things like “looking good!” and “you can do it!”  Around mile 7.5, I saw a guy from my Northside Runaways group at a stoplight and he stayed back and ran with me for a little bit to check in and see how I was doing.  It was so kind.  Another couple stopped when I did to make sure we were headed in the right direction and they asked me if I wanted to run with them.  So nice!  Their names were Jenn and Joe.  I said “thanks, but I run a little slower than you guys so that’s okay.”  They gave me some encouraging last few words and then took off.  Having this Rogue community on my side makes all of the difference in the world! 

This was really a great run.  I felt mentally and physically strong the entire time.  I was so pleased with my efforts and so proud to see that I can continue to push myself out of my comfort zone and get my body to do things I didn’t think were possible.  A great way to start the weekend!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 15, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    Hooray! Sounds like your foot wasn’t hurting, and there wasn’t much injury-type pain, so that’s great to hear! Well done. I can’t imagine being out in that weather for as long as you were yet… someday, though. 🙂 Glad I got to see you this morning before you went. Well done!

  2. Wade Pettengill
    January 16, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    Great job Shelley. Your running progress is encouraging and motivating.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

