Home > Uncategorized > Slowly coming back!

Slowly coming back!

I’ve been pleased with my times the last couple of weeks but I’m still not back to “normal” yet, although I wonder if my foot feeling this way might be my new normal?  I think it’s still slowly getting better, but it still hurts. Every day. It’s just tolerable and more annoying than anything. 

Our quality workout today with Rogue included a short warm up jog (I missed it), footdrills, and (300 meters at 10K pace, 100 meters recovery for 1200 meters, 400 meter recovery loop) x 3 for a total of 3 miles.   I did 3.01 miles in 33 minutes for a pace of 10:57/mile.  It was so hard to slow down at the beginning!  I kept checking out my Garmin and I was between a 9:15-9:45 pace, which is NUTS for me and way faster than my 10K pace!  I had to make myself slow down but it was COLD.  I was sporting the double low-ponytails this evening when I got out there but I took them down before we were done with footdrills.  I needed the warmth of my hair on my neck!  I just had a tech headband that covered my ears (HIGHLY RECOMMEND) and that was it today for my hair.  I was happy with any help I could get!  I also had gloves, a long-sleeved tech shirt, a tech jacket, and capris. Really wish I’d had pants that went down to my ankles, but I didn’t.  But, just like always, life improved greatly about 15 minutes into the run.  I took off a glove at first, then I unzipped my jacket a little bit and by the time we were done, it was unzipped all the way. 

After the 3 miles, we were done.  Hooray!  I spoke with my coach for about 1 minute and already started to get cold so I zipped up my jacket and jogged to my car.  When I sat down, I realized my thighs were numb.  Nice.

IT WAS SO GOOD TO SEE MY TEAMMATES AGAIN!  I so like these people.  I hadn’t trained with them for a quality run since November.  They are so worth the 30+ minute drive to Anderson High School.  Yes, I could join the group that meets 5 minutes away from my house, but the people really make all the difference and I LOVE MY TEAM.  They were so kind to me when they saw me.  I felt like I was home =)

What I learned tonight:

  1. I’m never disappointed when I go running in less than ideal conditions.  I’m always happy I did it. 
  2. You truly do warm up 15-20 degrees when you’re running.  Makes 40 degree weather not so bad.  The wind isn’t very nice when it’s that cold, though!
  3. Having the support of my FB friends before I left (thank you Leslie, Katherine, Donna, and Michael!) and my teammates at the track, really help!  The support, motivation, and feeling of kindred spirits inspire and motivate me and I appreciate it!
  4. Tech headband thingies that cover your ears ROCK.  So does having hair that covers your neck when your jacket doesn’t!
  5. A Garmin 305 is great and really helps.  I bet it’s even better when you can use more than 15% of its features =)
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 12, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    So so happy for you! You’re doing great! Sorry about your foot, but just hang in there. I keep thinking the same thing with my knee and my plantar fasciitis…. I’m convinced that the stronger and more flexible I get, the better my body and joints will feel. Also, the longer I do it, lighter I’ll get, and that will help my knees and feet feel better too. Anyway, I’m so glad we get to be part of the same running community. I feel so lucky to be on your “extended” team. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

